Author Topic: 2018 NSW TTT Cycling Club Champions Shield  (Read 333 times)


  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 410
    • View Profile
2018 NSW TTT Cycling Club Champions Shield
« on: July 30, 2018, 06:04:49 AM »
Bathurst Masters Win NSW Championship:
Bathurst Cycling Club has taken gold in the Masters Division (150yr +) at the 2018 NSW Club Team Time Trial Championships which was held at Nowra Airport Circuit on Saturday 21 July 2018.

The event is an historic event (first held in 1902) which decides the Champion Club of NSW with the awarding of the annual Champions Shield. Bathurst has an excellent record in the Premierships winning a number of Individual Masters TTT Titles in recent years and was an impressive runner up to Sutherland in the Champion Club Overall Title in 2014.

This year Bathurst took gold is one of the premierships most competitive categories the Masters Men 150 Championship (were the youngest 3 riders in the 4 man team total age is more than 150yrs – in other work average age of 50years).  Bathurst’s 2018 Nsw champion team consisted of Richard Hobson, Dennis Martin, Jeremy Ryan and Mark Windsor.

The Bathurst gold medal winning team completed the 40km Nowra Course in a very fast 59:17.68 to defeat rivals Randwick Botany and Illawarra by more than 1 ½ minutes. 
The local club was also unlucky to mass a medal in the Masters Men 180 Championship were the Bathurst of Jim Lavis, David Reece, Graham Stait & Robert Stephen finished 4th only seconds outside the 2nd and 3rd placegetters times.

Giant Sydney cycle club Sydney Uni Velo won the overall Championship with Bathurst slipping to 12th overall in 2018 after a number of top 5 performances in the last decade. Bathurst also runners up to Illawarra Cycling Club in the Top Country Cycling Club for 2018.

2018 NSW Cycling Club Champions Shield
Overall Champions
1 Sydney Uni Velo Club 451, 2 Manly Warringah 448, 3 St George 438, 4 Illawarra 325, 5 Lidcombe Auburn 261, 6 Randwick Botany 247, 7 Southern Cross 246, 8 Sutherland Shire 236, 9 Sydney 235, 10 Dulwich Hill 219, 11 North Western Sydney 206, 12 Bathurst 172, 13 Parklife 160, 14 Waratah Masters 116, 15 Penrith 102, 16 Harlequin 99, 17 Bicisport 81, 18 Hunter District 63, 19 Griffith 55, 20 Northern Sydney 46

NSW Metropolitan Champions
1st Sydney Uni Velo 2nd Manly Warringah 3rd St George 4th Lidcombe Auburn 5th Randwick Botany
NSW Country Champions:
1st Illawarra 2nd Bathurst 3rd Hunter District 4th Griffith 5th Manning Valley

Team Time Trial (TTT) Champions:
Open Men Championship
1 St George (Jay DUTTON, Ben DYBALL, Benjamin HARVEY, & Jordan LOUIS)       
Open Women Championship
1 Sydney Uni Velo Club (Abby SNEDDON, Georgia WHITEHOUSE & Emily WATTS)       
Masters Men 120yr Championship
1 Lidcombe Auburn (Greg BURGETT, Andrew EAST, Edward PARKER & Kiet DUONG)
Masters Men 150yr Championship
1 Bathurst (Richard HOBSON, Dennis MARTIN, Mark WINDSOR & Jeremy RYAN
Masters Men 180yr Championship
1 Manly Warringah (Peter RITCHIE, Gregory BARNES, Neil MATTHEWS & Kevin GOODMAN)
Masters Women 120yr Championship
1 Sutherland Shire (Emily HANEKROOT, Susanna DALE, Dayna DAVIDSON & Cassie SADDINGTON)
Masters Women 140yr Championship
1 Illawarra (Deborah COULLS, Kirsten BENNETT, Josephine CLARK & Nicole BROERS)
Junior Under-17 Men Championship
1 Manly Warringah (Jamie DUNN, Hugh PHILLIPS, William MACE-SMITH & Henry PATON)
Under-19 Men Championship
1 St George (Daniel GANDY, Ben METCALFE, & Rohan HAYDON-SMITH)