Author Topic: 2018 Office Bearers for Bcc  (Read 421 times)


  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
2018 Office Bearers for Bcc
« on: December 22, 2017, 03:06:49 AM »
Bathurst Cycling Club have selected their office bearer for 2018 with Mark Simons going into his 3rd year as President. He leads a very experienced team, including a couple of life members and some who are carrying on a family tradition in Bathurst Cycling.
Established in 1884, the 2018 Bathurst Cycling Club office bears are part of a long and prestigious list of cycling administrators, which includes many of Bathurst great pioneers. In fact one of the world’s greatest cyclists Dr H L Cortis formed the Bathurst Bicycling Club after he inspired the cyclists of NSW to establish the NSW Cyclist Union a matter of months before.
Member of Parliament and high profile Bathurst Doctor, Dr W.R. Cortis, the Mayor of the city Dr Spencer and the son of the Colonial Architect Mr Barnett where all involved in the forming of the first Bathurst Bicycle Club. Then other great pioneers of Bathurst, including Mr Lewis Lloyd MLA and Dr T A Machattie would also take major roles in the local bicycle club in the first couple of years of formation to set very high standards of management and a great club prominence in the local community.
Simons vice president Damien Bennett is not only a cyclist himself and father of a Junior National Medalist but his Grand Father and Great Uncles were excellent performers for the local club. Likewise club Treasurer Hayden Booth is a second generation Bathurst Cyclist. Club Secretary Elaine Ryan is a Bathurst Cycling living legend and life member having held the position for around one and a half decades.
The committee is also full of experience with Glen Partridge stepping up from Club Captain to Road Coordinator and award winning official Tracey Robinson working in the Junior Coordinator role. The Renshaw and Windsor names continue a tradition in Bathurst cycling, with WRAS coach Marian Renshaw and former UCI Accredited Cycling Director Sportif Mark Windsor on the committee while long serving club rider Scott Allen continues in his role as the Coordinator of MTB and Cycle Cross.
After riding at the Cycling Age Championships in France in 2017 Steve Scott has taken on the role as Club Captain.

President - Mark Simons
Vice President - Damien Bennett
Secretary - Elaine Ryan
Treasurer - Hayden Booth
Committee - Glen Partridge (Road Coordinator) Marian Renshaw (Track Coordinator) Tracey Robinson (Junior Coordinator) Scott Allen (MTB / CX Coord) Mark Windsor (BBP Delegate)