Author Topic: UCI Gran Fondo World Series event - Bathurst March 2020  (Read 2254 times)


  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 223
    • View Profile
UCI Gran Fondo World Series event - Bathurst March 2020
« on: July 29, 2020, 11:58:09 PM »
UCI Gran Fondo World Series - Bathurst B2B Round - March 2020
While the race for overall winner of Bathurst Cycling Classic creates plenty of interest the majority of the field is battling to qualify for the World Age Championships. It’s the fourth time that the Bathurst Cycling Classic B2B has had UCI status and counts as a qualifier for Worlds for both the Road Race and Time trial (with Saturday’s NSW Hill Climb Championships also doubling as the World Championships Time Trial Qualifier.
The Official Full List of Qualified will appear here shortly -

12 Locals look to have Qualified for the Road Race at World Age Champs
Unofficial results only – as this list of Qualifiers for the 2020 World Age Champs is calculated on finishers rather than starters or entries (and currently unsure of the process and the entries in the UCI event)
Unofficial Bathurst Qualifiers for the World Champs in Candia
60-64: Bruce Goddard, Mark Windsor
55-59: Dennis Martin, Tony Barlow
50-54: Richard Hobson, John Roberts, Ian Glen
45-49: Jodie Martin, Jeremy Ryan
40-44: Jarrod Bell
30-39: Stephen Dunstall
19-34: Emily Watts

NOTE - Waiting to see the local Qualifiers for the Time Trial Worlds but NSW Champions - Jodie Martin (Bathurst) Christine Wolfson (Orange) Mark Windsor (Bathurst) are all automatic Qualifiers after winning their event on Mt Panorama. While Bronze Medallists Laura Renshaw and Dennis Martin are also expected to qualify.

Other Local performed well in the 2020 B2B Long Course.
Away from the qualifying a number of other locals that made the top40 in the World Series events including –
Females- Fran Walker (13th) and Trudy O’Connor (24th) Dianne Dawson (16th) Candice Falconer (13th) Suzy Ladanyi (31st) Kristy Powyer (17th) Pip Press (31st)
Males - Angus McDowell (24th) Ray Thorn (37th) Jack Cannon (35th) Ryan O’Donnell (36th) Stephen Jackson (32nd) Peter Wilson (15th) John Posker (22nd).
Other locals wo finished the very tough Long Course included Troy Smith, Andrew Abel Ray Thorn David Reece Mick Foran Tim Roebuck Bruce Hutton Nathan Taylor Geoff Hastings Gary Theiss David Hyland Greg Ryan Nathan Maher Jayaram Jayabalan Tim Miller Danny Weal Laurence Outim Matthew Dowton Alan Cattermole David Claypole Troy Smith Nathan Taylor Peter Bigrig Allan Hamilton...
Also of interest, regular Bathurst racers - Ian Grant (55-59) & former local Paul Scherl who look to have qualified

2020 Short Course Event -
Plenty of great local performances in the Short Course event at the 2020 Bathurst Cycling Classic
Both Rosemary Hasting (70-74) and Wendy Hastings (65-70) won their Categories in the 50km B2B - with (60-64) Category Winner Geri Roggiero also connected to the Bathurst region via she husband David. Geri has raced with the Bathurst Club in the past.
Also making the top 3 in the Female 50km event included Annie Walls 3rd in the 45-49 cat while Ella Falzarano not only 2nd in the 19-35 cat but also 2nd overall behind Josie Talbot. Laura Renshaw just outside the podium 4th in the 19-35 cat and also 7th female overall. Susan Fietz also a strong performance finishing 4th in the 55-59 cat
In the Mens Categories Glen Carter won the 50-54 Category (also 8th overall) with locals Greg Wyld Peter Hickey also in the top 5 in that category. Michael O’Connor (35-39) Alexander Grant (19-34) and Bruce Weal (60-64) where all impressive finishing runners up in their categories. While David Bull (65-69), Glenn Hope (55-59), Heath Botham (50-54) and Joel Little (45-49) all finished in third place in their categories. Locals in the top 5 in their Age Categories in the Short Course B2B included James Hunter, David Tallentire, Phil Cole and William Kelly 4th in the 15-16 category
« Last Edit: July 30, 2020, 12:00:19 AM by Mark »