Author Topic: 7/08/21 John Butler and Harry Stephen Trophies X Roads 49km scratch races  (Read 3244 times)


  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 226
    • View Profile
John Butler and Harry Stephen Memorial Races
Back to back wins to top class rider Will Hodges in the 46th John Butler Memorial Race. Hodges defeated last year’s third placegetter Luke Tuckwell who looks certain to get his name on the prestigious trophy in the future.
Mark Windsor and Steve Bennett went on the attack early and built a good lead early in the race. However the chase got serious on the Caloola Climb splitting into 2 main groups the first lead by Hodges and Tuckwell with the leading pair soon caught.
On the return Hodges and Tuckwell attacked and fought out the finish with Hodges to fast for the young Orange rider in the dash to the line. Third placegetter Nick Barrett was also on the podium last year, finishing 2nd in the Harry Stephen memorial which is also contested on the day, his jump in grades to finished 3rd in the Butler Race certainly showing his improvement over the last 12 months. Young Gun Cadel Lovett was next to finish following in by Jack Cannon and Mark Windsor. Brad Rayner and Steve Bennett jumped clear of a bunch on the return trip to lead the B Grade riders home in 7th and 8th place overall with Dave Reece and Drew Tuckwell making up the top 10 in front of Tony Shaw and Rod Lovett. Nice Ride by Ella Falzarano to be the first female rider home in the 2021 Bulter Memorial Race.
In its 5th year, the Harry Stephen Memorial has become the major goal for C and D Category riders in the club. The race came down to a 4 rider break which moved clear on the Caloola Range, with a determined Brian Draper outsprinting current C Grade road series winner Damian Bennett for the trophy, Charlotte Lovett was the top female placegetter in third place with strong riding Bryce Staker fourth. Next in was Mick Foran and 2 time winner Rob Stephen with Darren Fenton, Kevin Bell, Peter Wilson and Ebony Robinson rounding out the top 10 infront of Michael Robinson and Peter Hickey who was the top place D grader...

John Bulter Memorial
1Will Hodges 2 Luke Tuckwell 3Nick Barrett 4Cadel Lovett 5Jack Cannon 6Mark Windsor 7Brad Rayner 8Steve Bennett 9Dave Reece 10Drew Tuckwell 11Tony Shaw 12Rod Lovett

Grade Winners
A Grade - 1Will Hodges 2 Luke Tuckwell 3Nick Barrett
B Grade - 1Brad Rayner 2Steve Bennett 3Dave Reece
First Female - Ella Falzanaro

Harry Stephen Memorial 7/8/21
1Brian Draper 2Damian Bennett 3Charlotte Lovett 4Bryce Staker 5Mick Foran 6Rob Stephen 7Darren Fenton 8Kevin Bell 9Peter Wilson 10Ebony Robinson 11Michael Robinson 12Peter Hickey

C Grade - 1Brian Draper 2Damian Bennett 3Charlotte Lovett
D Grade – 1Peter Hickey 2Scott Allen 3 Lara Allen
First Female - 1Charlotte Lovett