Author Topic: 2017 Hotel Canobolas Christmas Cup  (Read 455 times)


  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 346
    • View Profile
2017 Hotel Canobolas Christmas Cup
« on: December 19, 2017, 03:55:39 AM »
Rees wins 10th Edition of the Hotel Canobolas Christmas Cup:
Orange cycling premier Handicap event, the Hotel Canobolas Christmas Cup returned to the Forest Road Huntly Road course in 2017 for the 10th anniversary of the iconic event.
The event was dominated by the outmarkers with Orange’s Dave Rees defeating team mate Sue Bonnar who was also second overall and fastest female in 2014. Popular Bathurst riders Rosemary Hastings and Caroline Robinson taking 3rd and 4th placings with 2013 winner Matt McGrath finishing 5th.
Cowra’s Will Hodges who rides for the Bathurst Cycling Club recorded fastest time in the event for the second year in a row. This is something to be proud of, given the quality of scratch markers in the race over the last decade, including Bathurst superstar Mark Renshaw.
Likewise Orange’s Katey Sutton claimed the prestigious Female Fastest Time award in 2017 which was won by top NSW representative Leonie Burford in the inaugural event when European Professional Dean Windsor finished first and fastest.