Author Topic: Round 9 Renshaws Pedal Project Road Series-49km X Roads scratch  (Read 743 times)


  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Final Round “Renshaws Pedal Project” Road Series
50km X Roads scratch
The ninth and final round of the 2021 “Renshaws Pedal Project” Road Series was up the very difficult Caloola Range and all 4 grades of the series would be decided in the event.

A Grade:
After finishing runner up in the A Grade series every year since its inception in 2018, Mark Windsor was hoping to finally breakthrough for the win in 2021 and started the final round the leading rider in the A Grade Series.
However, things didn’t go well Windsor on the Caloola Climb when the quality A grade field broke up after Will Hodges and Luke Tuckwell went on the attack. Chasing hard was the 5-rider group of Jeremy Ryan, Craig Hutton, Jack Cannon, Cadel Lovett and Nic Barrett with promising young Orange rider Oscar Hansen and Mark Windsor trying to get back to that 5 rider group.
Yet on the return trip the field broke up even further with Jeremy Ryan and Craig Hutton jumping away in an attempt to catch Hodges and Tuckwell.
But the leading pair had a winning lead with Hodges taking the win from Tuckwell with Jeremy Ryan taking third in front of Hutton. Jack Cannon out sprinted Cadel Lovett for fifth place followed in by Nic Barrett Mark Windsor and Oscar Hansen.
Jack Cannon points for 5th place looks to have moved the hard riding Bathurst cyclist alongside Windsor in the Series, with officials set to do a recount which may see Windsor slip to second again for the fourth time in a row.

B Grade
It was the same story in B Grade, with the series B grade leader David Reece also missing the move on the Caloola Climb and forced to chase a 4 rider lead group of Steve Bennett Dave Hanson Drew Tuckwell and Will Lesh. Helping Reece to chase was Ella Falzanaro with Steve Scott, Ray Thorn, Brad Rayner and former good rider Billy Hutton also chasing hard.
But the 4-rider break had a winning lead and Steve Bennett would take the win, outsprinting Dave Hanson, Drew Tuckwell and Will Lesh. Dave Reece finished well to take 5th which is expected to enough to defeat Bennett in the series. Ella Falzanaro was 6th and the top placed female in the final round of the “Renshaws Pedal Project” Road Series. Next in was Steve Scott, Ray Thorn, Billy Hutton and Brad Rayner.

C Grade
Rob Stephen and Damien Bennett have been swapping the series lead in C grade coming into the final round with Kevin Bell also holding plenty of series points having been regraded to C Grade after a number of wins in D Grade in the early rounds of the 2021 series.
However, in the final round it was in form cyclist Phil Stapleton that was too strong for the field on the tough Caloola Course defeating Bryce Stacker.
Damien Bennett sealed the win in the series outsprint Mick Foran for third with Rob Stephen 5th in front of Kevin Bell, with Peter Wilson the next to finish ahead of Charlotte Lovett and Bruce Hutton

D Grade
Visiting Dubbo rider Tim Howlett enjoyed the hills in the D Grade breaking away on the Caloola Range for a big win. Gary Theiss and Gary Hamer took-up where they left off last week this time Theiss getting the better of his rival to claim second place ahead of Hamer. The battle for the series fought out by the riders behind this trio with Peter Hickey taking 4th ahead of Cathy Adams David Hyland and Rosemary Hastings. Hylands 6th place expected to be enough the defeat Adams and Hickey in the 2021 D Grade Renshaw’s Pedal Project Road Series

RESULTS - Round 9 Bcc Renshaws Pedal Project Road Series-49km X Roads scratch
A Grade: 1Will Hodges 2Luke Tuckwell 3Jeremy Ryan 4Craig Hutton 5Jack Cannon 6Cadel Lovett 7Nic Barrett 8Mark Windsor 9Oscar Hansen
B Grade: 1Steve Bennett 2Dave Hanson 3 Drew Tuckwell 4Will Lesh 5 Dave Reece 6 Ella Falzanaro Steve Scott Ray Thorn Billy Hutton 3Brad Rayner
C Grade: 1Phil Stapleton 2Bryce Stacker 3Damien Bennett 4Mick Foran 5Rob Stephen 6Kevin Bell 7Peter Wilson 8Charlotte Lovett 9 Bruce Hutton
D Grade: 1Tim Howlett 2Gary Theiss 3Gary Hamer 4Peter Hickey 5Cathy Adams 6David Hyland 7Rosemary Hastings